15 years to go!

Wisco2031

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone,

I have been using this forum for a few years, and would like to thank everyone for the great knowledge, and keeping me motivated toward financial independence!

Here's my into:

I am an e-5 in the Air Force, and plan to stay for 20. I am investing $750 a month into the roth TSP (L2050), with a balance of $23,000. I plan to max my TSP as soon as I can! Additionally, I have no debt and $13,000 liquid.

The Air Force is paying for me to go to college, which is awesome! I am majoring in Computer Science, and plan to get my masters in software engineering.

When I retire from the Air Force in 2031, I hope to be completely financially independent and become an independent software vendor/developer. Whether I make $5,000 a year or $100,000 a year, I want to be financially independent and work for myself. To do this I will combine my military retirement and life expectancy withdraws from my TSP, and LBYM.

I look forward to any input.

Getting paid to get a masters in software engineering - now that's smart. There many many different opportunities for consulting or developing your own products in that field. Good luck with your plan.

Welcome! You didn't mention your life status - if you're married and have (or want) kids, and it's possible that over time things may impact your plans. But the money you save now will be a powerful addition to FI in the future, so kudos for taking these steps now.

Sounds like you have a good plan, but more importantly the awareness of how your actions now can have a long term impact, and how little things can make a big difference. That awareness will serve you well in your life no matter what developments happen.