25yo, want freedom by 40

FreeBy2020

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi everybody, FreeBy2020 here. I just turned 25 last week and I set myself an ambitious goal of being FI by 40 years old. Not necessarily retired at 40, but able to choose any job anywhere at any pay and not have to worry about my eventual retirement. My moniker is even more ambitious, because in 2020 I'll be only 37. But I'm aiming high and I'm the type of person who expects great things of myself.

I'm so happy I found this website/forum. Anytime I try to talk about financial stuff with my friends my age, they either start sleeping or look to change the subject as soon as possible. Talking about FIRE-type things with people my age just doesn't typically prove fruitful.

A little more about me. I'm an English teacher in Japan. Though pretty much topped out (foreigners here can't climb the ladder), I don't have to pay any taxes whatsoever. So, my $30K salary is not much but it's not taxed. I plan to return to the US in late 2009 and either continue teaching or attend law school. My fiance is a Japanese woman who shares most of my beliefs about life and money, so I'm not worried about her ruining my financial plans in the future. I paid for 3/4 of my college by working in a salaried position for the university itself, so I managed to graduate with zero debt and two degrees (both with honors).