28, Engineer, sailor

seabourne

Recycles dryer sheets
Just to say hello to everyone here. I've been occasionally reading a couple of forums like this one for the last few years, and it has been immensely helpful to both me and to some friends that I have helped to plan out their savings and planning. My background is BS in MechEng, Econ, and a minor in models and data analysis, so this sort of thing is a good fit for me. I have been working full-time as an engineer and part-time as a sailor on tallships, but I'm thinking about leaving engineering in the next few years and would like to become a financial adviser for people, at least part-time. Recommendations from people practicing would be appreciated. I'm hoping to be able to retire to sailing 9 months a year before I'm 40 - summers on Lake Michigan and in the winters take a 3-4 month contract to work a boat somewhere warm!

For a current starting point, my NW just passed $100k (excluding condo w/mort) about a week ago, about 60/30/10 ESOP/401k/Roth. Leaving soon to island hop in Italy for about 10 days with some sailor friends. Living well and looking forward to only working on things that I enjoy!

Last edited:
Welcome to the boards.

Congratulations on passing the 100K goal. That is always a major milestone. It sounds like you have some idea where to go. There are some financial advisors on the board so you can find out more to see if this is what you really would like to do.

JI'm hoping to be able to retire to sailing 9 months a year before I'm 40 - summers on Lake Michigan and in the winters take a 3-4 month contract to work a boat somewhere warm!

Dude! You want to switch lives?
I worked for too long before sailing, should have done it the other way around.

img_558058_0_87971b6983c4e20358dc474553716044.gif