Join Early Retirement Today

28 year old looking for some sage advice
Old 09-25-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

28 year old looking for some sage advice

Hello ER,

I have been perusing the boards for the past several months now, indulging in some of the stories, ideas, and advice. I am finally ready to take the plunge and reveal myself. I am looking for an honest appraisal of where I am today in terms of FIRE and perhaps some areas of improvement that I might not have thought through clearly.

And here we go....

28 years old, Male, Washington DC Metro Area
Occupation: Financial Analyst for fortune 500 company since 2007 (same company) in roles of increasing responsibility.

Gross Income: 80K per year base.
Net Income: 3,761 per month (After deductions, before spending)
Monthly Expenses: ~ 2,000 (Rent of $550, Car Payment $250 @ 0% financing).

Assets
401K: ~83K (I contribute 17K statutory limit, employer matches 5.5%)
Roth IRA: ~21K (I contribute 5k statutory max limit)
Taxable Accounts: ~7500 (includes lending club account, and investment in gold of 5K through ETF IAU)
Cash: 55K (Includes ~12 months living expenses)
Car: 2010 Corolla value approx ~9K

Liabilities:
Car Loan: ~7.2K (~29 months remaining)

Net Worth: ~167K

I have no credit card debt and no student loans. I am currently pursuing my MBA in accounting in the evening and employer is picking up about 85%-90% of the cost and I will use some of my cash to cover the remainder but it is not much. I also need the cash because I pay up front and am reimbursed at the end of the semester.