Join Early Retirement Today

28-year-old photographer wondering what to do next...
Old 09-20-2009, 09:05 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

28-year-old photographer wondering what to do next...

Greetings!

I just finished reading "Work Less, Live More: The Way to Semi-Retirement," and found a link to this forum in the resources section. How nice it is to have a community of people with the similar interests and life goals! I'd like to introduce myself and give you a little back story, so feel free to read as much or as little as you'd like.

When I was 25 years old, I was a highly skilled photographer working as an analyst at a major bank. Shortly after being laid off from my third corporate gig in as many years, I decided that I would never be content slaving away in a gray cubicle, regardless of my salary. It became apparent to me that there were only two options: Keep grinding away in various button-down positions while trying to take photos on the side and begging for an annual cost-of-living increase, or striking out on my own. I had no idea what the hell I was going to do, as my Ivy-League undergrad education had prepared me for NOTHING practical. However, I did know that I had to figure out a different path as early as possible.