Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

3 months into FIRE...
Old 08-14-2013, 11:26 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

3 months into FIRE...

Hello… I just found this forum the other day and I must say I was amazed by the number of people who were able to retire early. I know we (FIRE’ers) are a very small percentage of the entire population and it was comforting to see other people making this important life changing decision and reading their ER stories which in some cases mirror my own story. So here is my story… I’m 49 and retired on May 1st 2013. I was an engineer for 25 years at major semiconductor company. Like others on this forum I started experiencing extreme burnout and it was affecting my physical & mental health. For most of the 25 years I have been able to manage the high stress and accepted it as part of the job which comes with the big paycheck. However the last 3 years of my career it seem to get much worse and I felt like I was trapped in my job role as a project manager and reached a grade level that limited my options to move to a different job inside the company. It was a very strange self-awareness point in my life. It was like a just woke up after a 25 year nap and realizing I was in a job that I did not like and was getting zero satisfaction from. I was good at what I did, but I was only doing it for the paycheck. Fortunately I had a grandfather that taught me the value of the “dollar” when I was a kid and I developed very good work ethics and saving habits by the time I started my professional working career 25 years ago. I confess that I’m a compulsive over planner. I started tracking every “cent” of my spending & investments 15 years ago using MS Money which I still use today. By doing this I became aware that early retirement was achievable “IF” I was able to be very discipline and live below my means. Everyone talks about hitting the their “number” meaning how much you need to save for retirem