33, with some questions if you don't mind

Mudd

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello ! My name is Mudd (long story on that one) and I've been lurking here for about a year after finding you guys while on the Simple Living website. My wife and I are 33. We live in a less expensive area of the country with our 2 children. I am a district attorney. The second half of the TV show law and order is what I do for a living. Although at times stressful -homicide/rape trials and boring(paperwork days), I mostly enjoy my w*rk. Still other than being married I can't see doing anything for another 20 or so years. This is our financial situation:

Mortgage-160,000 (worth about 220k)
SL 16000
That's it for debt.
Assets
28k in our Roths
21k in my 457
17k in Mrs. Mudd's 401
13k in a rollover Roth

79 total for retirement

25k in various Cash, ING, MM, Checking
7k in ESA/529's
2 paid for cars and a houseload of other junk.

Considering starting at ag 27 spent a lot on fertility and adoption fees, we always made saving a priority.

My goal is financial independence. I can't believe the feeling I now have with the extra cash in ING. I see the light and w*rk has been more enjoyable with the cushion. I think I'll always dabble in law to keep busy. Some people I work with do 1 week on/ 1 week off. To me that sounds perfect when the kids are older, but at 55-I'm gone.

We are currently putting away (with Mrs.'s match) 18k a year for Retirement.
13k a year in savings (mostly ING-due to election cycles I want a big cushion).
4k a year into college.
and lastly an extra $100 a month towards mortgage.

Also if I work until 55 I would get medical for life and a 60k a year non-Cola'd pension.

My questions (sorry for going on so long)

1. Are we doing o.k.? My goal is to be able to easily walk at 55, but if the city gets rid of medical benefits, then 50 (I would then get my pension at 60). By 50 house should be paid off or at worst a mortgage less than 50k