Join Early Retirement Today

36 year old Canadian husband who wants to retire within 10 years
Old 01-23-2016, 01:28 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

36 year old Canadian husband who wants to retire within 10 years

Hi There,

I am a 36 year old Canadian husband who wants to retire within 10 years.

I have been working towards early retirement by putting about half my take home pay towards my networth. I’ve been doing this since 2013. In 2013 I paid off my student loans and achieved a $0 networth. Subsequently I have increased my networth to about $115K CAD ( all figures in Canadian dollars). That number fluctuates daily based on the mood of the financial markets.

The vast majority of my savings comes from living in a relatively cheap apartment, owning one car, and low food spending. Housing, transportation and food are, I think, the biggest spending categories for most people.

My wife is also working towards similar goals and has a similar savings rate.

I want to have at least one child and would like to pull this early retirement off with the child or children.

I currently live on about $28K per year so I figure I’ll need roughly 700-950K in today’s dollars to retire and maintain my current lifestyle (assuming a 3-4% SWR).

When I retire I want to travel with my family, using geographic arbitrage opportunities, and possibly live overseas. I would also like to focus on spending time with family,reading, playing guitar, making friends and acquaintances (particularly with likeminded people) and learning about the world in general.

Hopefully I can learn some things from this community and contribute in my own way as well.
BlueNote is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!