Join Early Retirement Today

40yo, Still Grinding Away, Future Has Promise
Old 03-21-2014, 09:39 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

40yo, Still Grinding Away, Future Has Promise

Hi all, I just posted my first couple of posts so I guess I should post my "story" here .

I'm 40 with a wife (38) and child (7). We both work and have a very good combined income > $300K. However, there is a lot of stress and doing all the child-related tasks on top of our jobs is not the way I would prefer to live. Some people like the go-go busy-all-the-time pace; not me.

I have been working at my job with slowly increasing salary for almost 18 years - since college. I am bored and somewhat burnt out on it. My wife is a doctor, so her path was long and arduous and she has only been making good money for 3.5 years. She likes some aspects of her job, but the hours and on-call shifts are too much.

The good news is that we are both reasonably frugal and I caught the RE bug in 1999. We saved pretty well even through the "lean" years while we had a younger child in daycare/preschool and my wife was doing her residency and fellowship training. Now that she is making a nice salary we save easily (conservative estimate) $90K-$100K per year.

Net worth is currently around $1.4m, consisting of 401K/403B balances, taxable investments with Vanguard, and a lesser amount of stock options, home equity, cash. I have some unvested stock options that are worth > $100K which will fully vest in a little over 3 years.

We have a sizable mortgage with still about $385K remaining to pay. Also my wife's med school loans are still at $130K or so. The net worth factors in these debts, however, and both loans are at great interest rates.