Join Early Retirement Today
43 & Maxing 403b, 457 - what next?
Old 07-30-2010, 05:43 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets
43 & Maxing 403b, 457 - what next?

I was very lucky to get a great job in California (relocated from Oregon) and while there are state tax and personal income tax - still able to benefit from the move financially. I work in education and am investing the max - $15,500 in both my 403b and 457. I have a house in Oregon with under 100k on mortgage (just was able to rent it out after long vacancy) - about 10 years left on mortage (15 year mortgage). Also have 40k in Emergency fund. In addition to the aforementioned - also started this month putting $1000 into Vanguard for short term and the longer term. I don't know how long this financial position will last but am wondering if I should keep on this path or maybe try and pay off my mortgage early (or is there tax benefit since I own a home in Oregon and rent in California) or what are some other options to consider. Thanks for your patience and helpful advice.

Canada66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!