Join Early Retirement Today

45 year old newbie from Cincinnati
Old 11-13-2017, 02:36 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

45 year old newbie from Cincinnati

Hi All - I've been viewing the site for a few months and thought I would say hi and get some thoughts from the group.

I am 45 and my wife is 42. 2 children ages 8 and 10. I started my own business within the last 15 months (a professional services business) and I need a little sanity check. My wife is a school teacher and really enjoys the work. Our finances break down as follows:

401(k) - $300,000
Brokerage Account - $110,000
Savings Account - $32,000
House - Owe $100,000 is worth $260,000. Currently on a 15 year mortgage with 13 years left
College Fund - $40,000

Debt - One Car loan with $15,000 left on it. No other debt besides what is left on the house.

Our expenses are about $5500 a month

My business has no debt on it and any money I put into getting it started has been repaid and I have about 10 months of personal and business expenses saved in the business account. This money is not included in the amounts above. I have not put any money into savings/retirement since I started the business as I sleep a little better knowing I have the money to pay the expenses for a while. At times I don't know where my next check in coming from!

My wife has a pension through the state teachers union. Assuming she continues to teach and has a fully funded pension and I continue to pay into SS we will receive roughly $75,000 a year at ages 63 and 60. She will have access to Healthcare until 65 as will I through the teachers fund.

I am freaking out a little because I am not currently putting any money away into a retirement account or into the college fund. I am hoping to be able to do so in the next 8-10 months. Much of this depends on how the business goes.