Join Early Retirement Today

47, feeling a bit stuck
Old 06-17-2014, 07:25 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

47, feeling a bit stuck

Me: Part-time IT Consultant, grossed $125k last year. Have worked in IT for 20 years.
DW: Project Manager, earned $95k last year. Could earn $100k on full-time schedule.

We live in Ann Arbor, MI.

Net Worth: $1.6M, consisting of
- $450k 401k
- $170k Roth IRAs
- $220k Rollover IRA
- $160k SEP IRA
- $550k equity in 7 rental properties and home. All have mortgages. Tot Asset Value is $1.6M.
- $50k cash

Expenses: around $6.5k/month
Rental income: $3k/month, almost all of which flows back into loan principal. Cash flow might be $500/mo.

My primary client is now trying to insource their IT work. I've been working 30 hours/wk for them for the past 7 yrs. Now down to around half that this month. I could find full-time replacement work in IT but have been 'spoiled' by my part-time telecommuting job. We have a 7 year old son with mild autism. It's been very helpful to have max flexibility with current client to help look after son (esp during summer break) and rental properties.

I'm considering other employment options that might offer lots of flexibility. DW suggested working as realtor, which could be interesting and would dovetail with our rental property investing. However I'm a bit introverted and wonder if it would drive me crazy to sell houses all day long. Also unclear on how long it would take to make any income as a realtor. Also considering a franchise, or starting a business of some sort.

I probably have a few months to figure things out given our income, savings, and expenses. Although we have a decent net worth we're somewhat cash-poor right now. Any intelligent advice from you folks would be helpful, especially if you've found a successful path through a similar situation or career decision.
stayhungry is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!