Join Early Retirement Today

51, ER in 11 months? Trying to escape golden handcuffs...
Old 01-27-2013, 07:33 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

51, ER in 11 months? Trying to escape golden handcuffs...

Hi. Love this site, and I've spent a few weeks reading all sorts of helpful material.

I'm 51, I live in Austin, and have been in high tech sales my entire career. Lately (last 5-6 years), as a manager, I've made very good money - $400K-$550K. I have about $1.5M saved, with half in 401k/IRAs and the rest in a brokerage account. Recently downsized significantly to a smaller house since the last kiddo is out of the house (in college). My annual budget is about $80K, and while my spending in the past five years has been above that (sometimes significantly), I am working on really tracking that very closely as I enter what may be my last year at this job. I have a financial advisor who I will keep. Not only is he a close personal friend (who has done a tremendous job with my finances), I find that letting someone else worry about what to invest in has significantly reduced my stress.

DW has recently re-entered the workforce at a job she loves, and has no intention of stopping any time soon (she would do what she does for free, but makes about $45K/year, and the job has health insurance if we want it). I also have an annuity of $26,000/year. In-laws have significant assets (I think about $7M-$10M) that will be split among the three kids when they are gone (which I hope is a long time from now!!)