Join Early Retirement Today

53: Will retire in four months.
Old 06-12-2008, 06:41 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

53: Will retire in four months.

Or maybe I'm starting an open-ended vacation in four months. I can always choose to end an open-ended vacation should I run out of interest or money, though I can't see either happening. But looking at this next big step as an opened-ended vacation makes it an easier step to take then the R word.

I intend to spend the first year traveling to check out possible places to live, and do some general travel while I'm in the area(s). I've been to Baguio in the Philippines, I'm going back to check out Cebu City and Davao. Then it's on the Chiang Ma in Thailand. Possibly look into Malaysia, but I haven't finished my research on that country yet.

Then it's on to Latin America, probably my eventual destination. I've been studying Spanish for 4 months, but I'm not ready for a Spanish speaking country. I'll check out Arequipa in Peru and Mendoza in Argentina. I can't afford Chile, but I won't miss visiting Valparaiso. Finally I'll head to Costa Rica and contemplate it all.

I'm able to retire early because I was blessed, lucky and diligent. I inherited a sum in college that was about 1.5 times the salary of my first professional job, so I was able to start investing early. I'm a software developer, which means I get paid well to do something I'd be doing as hobby. When my peers were buying 3-series BMWs I was driving a beater and investing the difference. There were a couple of times where I got lucky in the market, that sure helped.

I intend to fill my time with things there has never been enough time for: photography, contributing to an open source software project, volunteer work in the community, taking up chess again after 40 years, learn the language and culture I live in and just hang out with good friends.

Now all I gotta do is increase the rate of finishing things on my pre-retirement To Do list.