Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

@58 in Chicago and on fire to retire.
Old 07-27-2017, 01:41 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

@58 in Chicago and on fire to retire.

I signed up a couple of weeks ago and so don't recall where I ran across this site, but am enjoying what I've read so far.

As for myself, I'm a corporate attorney (58) with a great wife (56) and we recently became empty-nesters. Recently, I had a situation at work that has lit a fire under me to get retired.

I won't bore you all with the details, but it was nothing earth shaking. I was working on another deal that was having the typical issues getting to close and the typical pressures to "make it happen". I'm sure lots of you can relate.

What was different this time was that I suddenly decided 'enough is enough'; I guess "flamed out" is the best way to describe it. Suddenly, I just did not care anymore.

Like I said, there was no drama, no meltdown, no scene. I kept working as if nothing had changed (in fact, the deal just closed yesterday), but I went home and told the wife: We are going to do whatever it takes to cut spending and increase saving so I can retire as soon as possible.

And that's why I'm here. We have done OK saving, but of course, could have done better. Nevertheless, I'm hopeful I'm less than 5 years from retiring and am laser focused on accelerating date (which is the reason I'm here! ).
CoolRich59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!