Join Early Retirement Today

afraid to let go?
Old 04-23-2015, 10:03 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

afraid to let go?

I have been reading posts for about a year and find the information interesting, and I am learning a great deal.
Our situation: both public workers >35 years each.
will have guaranteed cola'd pensions with 100% survivorship (I know, I am blessed to have this) that should cover about 90% of our spending, which I have been tracking for 5 years. ( We could roll over our entire pensions which would be 1.2 million, but I think I would prefer the guaranteed for life income)
Also have $442,000 in 457 plan and another $110,000 in an IRA through work
House will be paid off next year. Our emergency fund is low right now due to recent home upgrades.
children independent.
Two FA say we are good to go, now if we want, due to pension.
If I wait until 60, my health insurance will be paid approx 90% until 65 by employer.Both spouse and I plan to work until 11-2016 (when I turn 60) due to that. Not early retirement, but less than 65!
I've run firecalc twice with 2 different spending patterns and it says 100%.Even with that, I keep thinking (worrying) about finances!Hubby wants to go now.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!