Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Back on the RE train
Old 06-26-2005, 10:05 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Back on the RE train

Hey everyone
Chris here

I am a computer programmer, and do comedy in Chicago for fun.

At 29 yrs old I was on track to retire at 45, thanks to reading the Fool, Retireearlyhomepage, etc. that was only after cleaning up my act at around 26 (when I read the Millionaire Next door and realized hey I gotta pay off this debt and start saving).

Then I quit my job at 31, for awhile tried my hand at my own business (digital surveilance/security) though without a business plan it did not work out well. During that time period I sold a car and liquiated my 401k (26k at the time) for food money (well I could have spent less).

Anyway, got a job about a year ago, and am closing on a house this month and just going over my finances again and I'm just starting to save again. And I just realized how far behind I am on so many goals esp. financial ones.

Here are my numbers:
cash: 42K (about to drop 14750 on 5% down for loan, plus another 4K in closing costs plus 2.2K in what we in chicago call "Daley's Tax" which the seller pays everywhere else :-) )

credit card debt:
3500 at 0% (for a few more months)
9500 at 1.99% for life of loan

investments:
all are in Roth IRAs:
US small cap: 8500
Emerging Markets: 2500
Other international: 2800
Cash: 750

The 750 cash is in my Schwab SIMPLE account for work it costs so darn much to trade I have to wait till i get 1000 so I can buy a fund without cost. (That is provided by my company).

That's it. This is also my first house. I am kinda freaking out about that too :-)