Join Early Retirement Today

Do I need to go back to work?
Old 04-22-2019, 09:50 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Do I need to go back to work?

I just agreed to a voluntary separation with my employer. I will in turn receive 97 weeks of severance paid out every other week as normal. That will start at the beginning of July.... so I still work a few more months. I will still be under the company's healthcare plan for that whole time, then I can go cobra if need be.

I really wanted to work another 5 years, but here are the numbers:
401k = 460k
My house is valued at 220k and is paid off.
I have zero debt and a very frugal wife.

I will be 61 when the pay stops coming in and would have to live off of liquid for a year before social security which will be 2200/ month if I take it then. I also pull in another 1600 a month with a free lance gig that I've been doing for 15 years. I just bumped my 401k contributions to 10% from 6% since the company won't be matching after June. I have a small pension coming at 62 that's 150/ month. I expect the 401k to be 600k at 62 and don't see a problem living off of 4% of it per year.

Should I go back to work ... or does this look doable?
unixfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!