Join Early Retirement Today
Early Retirement For Distressed Teachers
Old 03-10-2011, 11:11 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets
Early Retirement For Distressed Teachers

Dear Forum,

Hello to All from Teacher52!

I am a teacher 52-year old and I have worked just 16 years. Unfortunately, I have a pelvic tumor and feel very distressed. After, a second doctor opinion, the solution is a $30,000 surgery even with health insurance.

I would appreciate your kind insight about how to retire at 52 this year of 2011. I have a plain retirement accoun without ERA, 401 or other asset. As school districts budget cuts are obligating them to resource to less-experienced teachers to pay less, I see signs that I will get lay-off.

Thank you in advance for your wisdom,

Teacher52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-10-2011, 11:22 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Without knowing more details of your pension plan, it is difficult to suggest an approach to retirement.

Best of luck with the medical issue and in staying employed. These are difficult times.