Join Early Retirement Today

FIRE early but still too busy (33 in Toronto)
Old 05-05-2019, 06:35 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

FIRE early but still too busy (33 in Toronto)

Hi everyone!
I am relatively new to retirement but I find I still feel really busy. I managed to retire last year at the age of 32, and my wife retired two years before I did.

The biggest thing I came to this forum to look into is how long it takes people to settle into retirement. I still feel busier than I'de really like to and I assume its because I haven't figured out how to slow down yet.

I think my busy-ness makes sense but I just want to wander around and see if my theory is correct. Largely I blame it on my 2 kids (2.5yo and 0.5yo). One is in daycare and the other isn't. Saying I blame it on them sounds bad but I love being with them. I just still find I never read or play video games like I thought I would be doing.

I did start a blog about the journey, because I legitimately like writing and helping people. I do wonder if that's a stupid thing to do since there are a lot of finance blogs around and its time consuming :|

Also full disclosure I work 1 day a week, I dont think that really makes me feel busy since 6 days a week are so busy I imagine a 7th wouldnt change anything. I just mention is in case it disqualifies me from saying im retired. I mostly do it to stay attached to the interesting work I came from...just without the soul crushing overwork.

Leif is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!