Former expat turned early retirement junkie

packingslip

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi ya'll,

I have been in the states since August and immediately started at my current job. I lived in the area in between my teaching gigs abroad. I am 24 years old with a degree in linguistics, and an act for the Chinese language. I spent the past two years "deployed" even though my husband is the active duty member. I graduated with no debt hanging over my head but I am ready to start building my nest egg for early retirement.

I work a salaried job :( and I got a part-time gig as an adjunct (contract position, so no benefits).
$28,000 + ~3650 (adjunct job, starts in January)
$2185 Roth IRA w/ USAA (I am considering transferring to Vanguard)
$~9000 emergency fund

My husband (E4 Enlisted AF):
$26,220 base pay
$7,600 TSP Traditional
$18,000 liquid
$6000 in a brokerage acc

Expenses:
$~700 groceries for the last six months. My husband and I enjoy cooking but he is deployed and this number is less than $200 a month at the moment. But aggregate of our money went towards eating out and specific ingredients.
$1,100 rent/month (I am motivated to move out and rent out the vacant rooms/other units)

I have started reading about real estate investment because it seems feasible in this area compared to our hometown of NYC. I am still in the learning process, have not yet done any deals but active on the bigger pockets forum.

I have a few more months before I can start investing in my office's 401k. I am younger and I would prefer a higher paying job but due to the area, my prospects are limited. I want to go into academia but I need the capital to pay for my education or work at a University and earn my degree. I do not want to acquire any debt in graduate school. Back to the topic of my current situation.