Join Early Retirement Today

Getting Ready to Retire at 47 in NYC
Old 09-18-2011, 06:23 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Getting Ready to Retire at 47 in NYC

Since this is my first post, I want to say a big “THANK YOU” to everyone on this site for sharing their perspectives and knowledge. I have been visiting for over a year and I have learned a ton!

Due to some re-structuring at mega-corp, my position is being eliminated and I only have two weeks left in the office. My employer does not know they are actually doing me a big favor since I have been preparing for early retirement for 10 years and was planning to leave on my own early next year.

I am 47, single, no kids, and I have worked in various marketing related jobs for about 20 years. About 10 years ago I realized I could take control of my life via financial independence by dramatically increasing my savings rate and learning all I could about personal finance. My initial inspirations back then were “Millionaire Next Door” and the “Rich Dad” books, but my primary motivation was the lack of control I felt while working for various big companies. No matter how strong my performance, I couldn’t get ahead fast enough. The harder I w*rked, the more my employers took me for granted.