Join Early Retirement Today

Greetings, Fishn here, need a little guidance
Old 07-18-2017, 10:40 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Greetings, Fishn here, need a little guidance

Greetings, I'm Fishn and I suppose my username reveals my number one hobby. I'm 62 and will turn 63 on October 31st. I'm in kind of a tough position right now as I was let go from a good job with full benefits and lots of perks back in early March without an explanation (at will employment). In exchange I received a 3 month severance check and no fight from my company on collecting unemployment, which I started receiving at the end of March. 6 month maximum on that so in another month or two that will end.

I had a delivery driver position. Even though I'm fairly well educated and not stupid this is what I've been doing the last 30 plus years, partly due to depressive issues, but I always worked. I've been a musician in more than a few bands over the years so that satisfied my creative urge.

To get to the crux of the issue, I need to choose between finding another full time job and continuing to work until a later or full retirement age, or take SS early at 63 and supplement the SS with a part time job that won't exceed their limit.

The problem right now is it's too hard to find a job comparable to what I had because the higher paying driver positions require longer hours and lots of lifting. After 2 knee operations and an orthopedist telling me I'll need a hip replacement, these jobs aren't an option, and I would have to take (if I can find one) a lower paying less demanding driving position. If that was possible then maybe it would be better despite the lower pay to continue working to get a higher benefit when I retire.