Greetings from a 29 y/o male living in the Bay Area. Intro & 1st question!!

firemilllenial

Confused about dryer sheets
Howdy all!

I'm an underpaid urban planner (working on changing this!) who currently resides in the Bay Area. Originally from Miami, I recently moved here from Denver. I'm a single 29 year old male with no debts! I have a master's degree in planning, and am very excited about this career. I do however want to become FI, so that I'm never dependent on an employer-overlord. After $7,000 has sat in my savings account for a year and a half, I want to invest some of it. Thus enters how I stumble across FI and long-term investing! I've been doing as much reading and listening as possible (MMM, Merriman, Mad Fientist, r/financialindependence, Root of Good, JHCollins, JD Roth, as well as various other off shoots) and have embraced fruaglity, saving, and living within my means. However, I have not yet invested my money and begun to purchase into the magical power of compounding. As for my financial information here are the details:

• Income: $48k (pre-tax), $30k (post-tax)
  • Debt: $0
  • Monthly Expenses: $1,800 - $2,200 (depending on climbing trips taken)
  • Savings: $7.1 k ($3.5-$4k to remain as an emergency fund)
  • 401k: $1k (soon to be $4.9k once an old DC account is rolled over)
  • Pension: $2.1k
  • Net Worth: ~$15.5k