Greetings from New Zealand!

stacrafty

Confused about dryer sheets
hi

I only just found this forum from a link in the MSN Money forum where I post all the time.

I'm a 28 yo New Zealand resident whos currently living in London with a pretty clear plan to retire in 4-5 years.

Heres how its happening...

I graduated in 2001 with finance and maths degrees, got an ok job in NZ. I have always been pretty frugal, but it was only once I read rich dad poor dad in may 2001, that I realised yyeah I can probably retire mid 30's.

So immediately went nuts on paying of my student loan. I was putting 2/3 of my fornightly wages towards it. The 12k went surpsingly fast. In the mean time I read books, talked to people etc.

In about June 2002 after about 6 months of looking I brought my first investment property. It was in a good area, and cashflow positive (before tax benefits). so it was all good. I also held a valuation saying it was worth 20k more than what I paid for it.

I revalued about 5 months later and brought a studio apt. I immediatly increased the rent, and had so many prospective tennants that I put the rent up even more. THe yeild was 14%, and I only had 20% down, so the IRR was insane, like 40% +.

The reason all the REI was going so well is that NZ ws in a huge boom. I continued to save, was now getting tax breaks from the IRD, and used work bonuses and excess cashflow as a downpayment on another property, this time in july 2003, 50/50 with my brother.

It all kept going well, the market kind of reaching its peak in prices, and rental levels kind of dropping off a bit, so I had the to drop the rents a bit, but still cashflow positive. I also put about 10k into international stocks, but these have only moved slightly.