Join Early Retirement Today

Greetings from western Massachusetts
Old 07-18-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Greetings from western Massachusetts

I have been reading this incredibly informative, opinionated and witty forum (without ever posting--shy!) for many months as I navigated ER from medical practice. I am eager for feedback and advice!

I am 55 years of age, single now for about as long as I was married, with children 21 and 23 who are more-or-less "launched". I worked as an oncologist for almost 30 years before getting real career fatigue/burn-out. I plotted ER for 2 years before exiting in December 2011 (a very difficult transition with unhappy partners and patients, but I HAD to get out or I would have become quite a basket-case!). At the same time as I ER'ed, I moved from a medium city in the midwest (St. Louis) to a college town in Massachusetts. Much of my professional life was spent in St. Louis although I had lived happily until age 34 in the Northeast. My new community has a slightly higher cost-of-living than St. Louis. The best parts of living here are the many things to do both indoors and outdoors (kayaking! hiking! bicycle paths! tons of concerts and museums!), as well as proximity to family (brother, dad). I am so happy with my decision. My stress has melted away.