Hello!

linkerbink

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi, everyone!  I just found this site today and joined immediately!  I am 59, widowed, no kids.  I plan to retire next June when I turn 60 (not exactly "early", but then, I really enjoyed what I do for a living).  I should have close to 600K accumulated through IRAs (mine & my husband's), 401K, SEP IRA & TSA, plus investments.  I currently receive a small pension for life from my husband's employment (he was in law enforcement) which is enough to pay my mortgage plus a little more, and will collect my own state pension when I turn 60, plus SocSec.  He was retired USMC LtCol, so I have military health insurance (Tricare) plus base privileges (commissary, PX, etc.).  My house (condo) is almost paid for, and I have long-term care insurance in place.  My investment planner says I shouldn't have to worry about "living on cat food" in my old age (I'd rather feed it to my cat!), which is all I really care about.  I plan to work part time through a temp agency (partly to finance my wanderlust and partly for social reasons), where I can accept or refuse assignments depending on my travel schedule.   I don't have anyone I need to pass anything on to, so whatever I have left when I depart this life goes to my church.

I like what I see so far on this site, as it offers information based on real life situations and experience.  I plan to check back often for new information.  Thanks!

Welcome to the board Linkerbink.

I am sorry about your loss. How long have you been widowed? There are a few of us previous or current widow(ers) who are active on this board. My wife died in 2003 when I was 51. I have since remarried.