Join Early Retirement Today

Hello, a few years from FIRE
Old 04-13-2006, 04:52 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hello, a few years from FIRE

Hello all,

First time caller, short-term lurker.

I'll start this off with a brief introduction, then start some new threads with some retirement planning questions I have.

My DW and I are about 5-7 years from FIRE, that is if crazy Mr. Market is agreeable over that time span.* DW and I are both in our mid 40's.* We have 3 kids in elementary school.* *I am a software engineer and DW has the harder job of managing the household.* *Yeah, I just read the CNN report referenced on this forum that a SE is the best job out there.* Yeah, it pays well but they forgot to ask me if I'm satisfied with it* :P .* *But I do get to work from home full-time so that makes it bearable for now.* That and the golden ball-and-chain keep me at the current employer*

We will have no pension or anything like that, so all retirement funds are from our own holdings.* My retirement holdings will be approximately 60% Roth IRA and 30% 401k/Rollover IRA, and the remaining 10% in a taxable account.* I will have to do the 72t thingy at FIRE to tide us over until age 59 rolls around.

In about 12 years we will have the house paid off and no debt.* *This will conincide with the youngest hopefully leaving the house for college.* *As she is packing her belongings to leave, I will be staking the for-sale sign outside to downsize to a much smaller house and pocket tax-free (hopefully) around 300-400k .*

Some concerns I have are 1) funding the kids college education while ER'd and 2) health care costs.* I'll start both of these concerns in new threads.

Great forum and thanks,

--Papi
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!