Hello all!

OKLibrarian

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi! Been lurking for the past week or so (found the board while doing research on retirement investing), and thought I'd introduce myself, as this seems like an intelligent/friendly bunch. I just turned 30, DH is 31, and we're both finally settled down into our careers and are ready to do some long-term planning. I'm a college librarian--hence the user name, and he's a software developer. we both love our jobs, but they are stressful (his especially), and we don't want to work any longer than necessary--but then does anyone? ::) We don't have kids, nor do we plan to--our talents lie in different areas. We have a fair amount in savings, but that's earmarked for a down payment on our first house--we hope to buy later this year. Aside from a small student loan, we're debt free. We haven't done much on our retirement accounts--though we've got several IRAs and 401Ks that are probably in the low to mid 5 figures total. The next to-do is obviously buying a (cheap but nice) house, but retirement planning is the next thing on the agenda after that.