Hello all, NYer looking to get off the treadmill someday...

Gekko

Dryer sheet aficionado
My wife and I were sitting around a few days ago discussing our FIRE possibilities (we're big on planning) and lamenting that what we really needed was a forum devoted entirely to this subject. A couple of Google searches and voila... here it is. I've been in read mode the last couple days and all I can say is Wow!!! Glad I found you guys.

I'm a professional in NYC. Details:

Married nearly 20 years
No kids
Assets: approx $4mm (a little over $1mm investable; other assets mostly r.e., some invmnt property)
Only debt is $750K mortgage
Income in the mid to upper six figures

Would say from what I've been reading, that probably have a lot in common with Salaryman in terms of financial goals.

Ideal FIRE number is something close to $5mm investable; free and clear of any mortgage debt. Would likely be selling or developing r.e. assets, including home and resettling somehwhere outside NYC, but not more than 2-3 hours from the city (we're city people at heart, but getting sick of the cost of living, taxes, dirt, etc., nice place to visit but...)

Expect to get there somewhere within next 10 years. Not in any major rush but like to fantasize about cashing out in next year or two. I really do enjoy my work, its just that its taken its personal toll on health and relationships (nothing serious). I've seen the light and made some changes, both career-wise and personal-wise.

Wife and I are both in agreement that now is the time to start preparing for retirement, figuring out where we'd want to live, and how we'd spend our time. Also, getting more sleep, more excersise, and generally having more fun in life has become a much bigger priority since I hit 40-something.

FYI, If I don't respond to comments/questions immediately, its because I intend to only post from home in the evenings.

Welcome to the boards