Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hello and where to start
Old 08-27-2003, 07:02 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hello and where to start

Hello folks,

I'm so happy to find this board for all of the reasons that others have already listed. So, where to start with my story? I've had a job of some sort since I was 12. Some of them were pretty good. In 1989, I graduated from Penn State and had a week off to move out of my apartment and into my new shared-home acomodations to be ready Monday morning to start a under-paid, under-appreciated job as a mechanical engineer. A couple of weeks later, I went back to PSU to visit the future wife. I knew that my fw was still in class when I got there so I stopped in the Legg Mason office to see what I could learn about investing. It was near closing time and the only guy left was the grand poo bah. The secretary tried to brush me off (she thought I was a student trying to write a term paper), but he just stepped out of his office and overheard. He told me to wait five minutes and he'd spend all night with me if I wanted. Since there really wasn't a lobby, he invited me into his cushy office for the 5 minute wait. He made two phone calls. The first was to the local radio station where he did a 2 minute financial report sponsored by Legg Mason for the evening news. The second was to his wife that went something like this - Hi Hon, someone just walked into the office that I'd really like to talk with. Do you mind if I come home a little late? Ah, huh, love you, bye.