Join Early Retirement Today

Hello from a young doctor who is not starving anymore! Looking for a play-by-play!
Old 10-26-2008, 11:40 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Hello from a young doctor who is not starving anymore! Looking for a play-by-play!

Hi all! I recently stumbled on your forum and this is exactly what I have been looking for! A group of people as enthusiastic and dedicated to keeping our hard-earned money in our pockets to fund our golden years!

My stats: I'm a 28 y/o resident doctor who is finally able to do some moonlighting and I am trying to come up with options on how best to set aside my money for retirement. I live very simply and have no problem continuing this life style as i am single with no kiddos. My only goal right now is getting my retirement funded as quickly as possible with the ultimate goal having the option to retire by the time i'm 36 (a little far fetched, but hey, gotta dream!)

My resident wage is 45,000/year before taxes. After state/fed income tax and after my state-owned hospital takes out a DCP 7.5% of my monthly check, I am left w/ $3,000/month. Through this employer, I have the option to contribute to both a 403b plan and a 457b plan.

Now for my moonlighting:

Employee - I intermittently work for an outside hospital that I am employed with that takes taxes out of my paycheck. They have a 401k plan that i can contribute to as well. I don't know much about the plan at this point. I have grossed approximately 11,000, with a net of about $7500 this year so far.

Independent contracting - I am also an independent contractor for several different places. They pay me just a gross income so i am responsible for paying all the taxes including medicare and social sec. I hope to make around 2000-3000/month with a target in the coming months of $5000/month.

Questions:
1) Should I incorporate vs. staying an independent contractor?