Hello from cold Michigan

Youngblood

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi, I just found this site a week ago and I'm totally addicted! I look forward to learning as much as I can from everyone here.

I'm 36 years old and I've been working on my savings for almost 10 years. I have approximately 140k in my 401k and approximately 30k in my Roth. I want to begin to invest in something I can use to bridge the gap from 52 to 55 (tap into the 401K), so I hope I can get some good recommendations on this site.

The only problem I have now, is how to stretch my money further. I'm a budget guy (spreadsheets and graphs), so I know where every penny is going, but with the 401k and Roth both maxed out, I just don't have anything else to spare. I'm thinking about reducing the 401k contribution and give myself 2-3k to invest in other funds (any thoughts??)

My dream is to retire at 52, with about 1.5 million. I just bought a home (175k) and I plan on having it paid off in 15 years (before I retire). I'm only counting my investments/savings for the 1.5 million, and not my home.
As of right now, I'm not married and have no children, so that really helps with my savings.

I guess that's enough for now :) I just wanted to introduce myself and give a few data points. I look forward to hearing from everyone.

Welcome to the forum. It sounds like you are already on your way to goal. My only suggestion (as one who has been there - or IS there) be certain you know the consequences of deferring taxes via tIRAs and 401(k)s, etc. It's not a "bad" thing to do, it's just that it may have consequences when you do retire. Personally, I've converted a significant amount of my tax deferred accounts to Roth IRAs. I want to avoid huge RMDs at age 70 1/2.

As always, YMMV. Best of luck.

My dream is to retire at 52, with about 1.5 million. I just bought a home (175k) and I plan on having it paid off in 15 years (before I retire).