Hello from Norway! How not to get lost as a newbie in FIRE?

henny-penny

Dryer sheet aficionado
Im looking forward to be debt free August 1st 2018 so very much. YAY!

Im currently reading "Your Money or Your Life" by Vicki Robin, Joe Dominguez, Monique Tilford. And trying to see if there is relevant information out the in the space. Im a little overwhelmed by all the books, blogs and webpages.

So, do you have any advice for a newbie here? How not to get lost in all that information, opposite arguments and how to adapt to welfare we have in Norway (and the fact that welfare is threatened by reforms).

Thanks in advance.

Welcome! I actually lived in Oslo for six months back in 2007.

There is so much out there that you do have to be careful about what you follow.

This forum is one of the best places to ask questions and learn things. "Your Money or Your Life" is a good starting point and there's other books from reputable writers.

Others here will chime in but I'd stay away from websites and 'experts' who you've never heard about or just intrinsically sound shady. Try to remember that most of these people have their own profit in mind ahead of yours!

Stay with the big-name outfits until you gain more knowledge and confidence in what you're doing.

Good luck and keep checking in here.

Read all you can and you’ll be better able to separate the good from the bad. Keep the basic formula in mind - live below your means and save as much as you can throughout your life. Outside of some windfall (lottery, inheritance . . .), there is not much else you can do. Take advantage of all the programs your employer or in your case, the state, offers to help you save and reduce taxes.