Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Hello, I'm desperate at 55.
Old 09-17-2018, 07:01 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hello, I'm desperate at 55.

Hello, I'm new to this reddit (I think I introduced myself when I registered last year, but that's about it), so I hope that I'm not being too repetitious in my question. I'm sure that questions like this come up all the time. And I hope I'm posting it in the right place.

I'm 55 years old, married and have one kid who is finishing high school this year and who wants to be a veterinarian. I have another kid in his third year of college now and who probably has a couple of more years to go. My house is paid for and we have no loans.

I have two jobs basically, one being a super high stress desk job and another in which I own cattle that are run on an in-laws place. I have about $2M saved up, part of which I inherited. I'd like to quit the high stress job right now but every time I mention this it provokes outright panic of the highest order with my spouse, who maintains that it's absolutely impossible. She pays the household bills and maintains that insurance alone will kill us (she's 44 and her's approaches the $1,000/month.

If that's the case, we'll never be able to retire.

So here are my questions:

Is she right (I know, that's almost impossible to answer, but we live fairly conservatively); and

If she's wrong, has anyone else gone through the "oh no, you absolutely must not quit discussion).

This is one thing we almost can't discuss in our household as the level of emotional drama that comes up every time I mention this is just over the top. I'm almost ready to simply quit and then announce I've done it, which would be bad, but at least that'd be over.
Pat_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!