Join Early Retirement Today

Hello new to the site, seeking some advice/opinions.
Old 04-12-2019, 09:47 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Hello all. I'm hoping to get some advice on how I'm doing with my retirement planning and what I could do differently/additionally. This will be long-winded, so bear with me.

I’m a family practice physician in the USA. I'm married, 36 years old, and just finished residency and started practicing late last year. My wife is 38 and is a college professor at a state university. She's on a tenure track, but still pretty low on the pay scale, with significant pay increases to come as she gets tenure and gets promotions. We have four kids that range from newborn to 16 years old.

Annual Income:
Me:
Salary $240,000
National Guard drill pay $15,000
Loan repayment (Guard and employer) paid directly to student loans: $75,000
Wife:
Salary: $75,000
Total annual gross earnings (excluding loan repayment paid directly to loans) $330,000

Assets:
My current 401k: $10,000
My old 403B from residency: $25,000
Our brokerage account: $50,000
Her current 403B: $10,000
Her old 401K: $70,000
Her mutual fund: $100,000
Home value: $300,000
Total assets: $565,000

Liabilities (the worst part of our financial picture):
My student loans: -$440,000
Her student loans: -$50,000
Mortgage: -$200,000
Total liabilities -$690,000

Total Net Worth -$125,000

Retirement annual contributions:
My 401K $28,500 (including employer matching)
Brokerage account: $12,000
Her 403B: $19,000
Total annual contributions: $59,500

Defined benefit pension estimates:
Social security (both of us, rough estimates): $65,000
Army National Guard pension: $35,000
Her College pension: $90,000
Total pension: $190,000 in today’s dollars