Join Early Retirement Today

Hey all, I'm Uncle Drew
Old 09-04-2008, 01:03 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hey all, I'm Uncle Drew

Hey All,

I'm Uncle Drew and I recently stumbled across these forums when they were linked from another personal finance site. Looks like there are some good discussions going on and some very competent posters.

A little about myself...I am 34 years old and married with no kids (at the moment) living in Northern CA. Both my wife and I work and have the goal of no longer needing to work at age 45. I am a technology manager by day and a financial counselor in my spare time. I find great pleasure in counseling, so I envision continuing that throughout my life.

I fall into the payoff the mortgage early camp especially where I foresee the markets heading in the next few years. We have about 45 months left to payoff the mortgage on the easy schedule, and we could pay it off in as little as 28 months if we hunkered down and got it done. In addition to paying off the mortgage, Retirement savings, etc. are well underway.

What I hope to gain from these forums is to learn about others' perspectives regarding what financial decision should be made in certain situations, to learn the good, the bad, the "i didn't think about that" from those that have retired early, and to meet similiarly minded people that I can bounce ideas off of.

Cheers,

UD

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!