Join Early Retirement Today

Hi from Boston
Old 03-09-2006, 08:47 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hi from Boston

Hi - Like many, I have been reading the forums for a few months before finally deciding to post.* I am 23, but it is great to have found a forum like this where I can get the low-down on true wealth building at the start of my working life.*

As some background, I graduated from college in 2004 and have been working for 1.5 years.* I live with my girlfriend, and despite the high cost of living in Boston, we have managed to follow the "LBYM" mantra by contributing 15% to our 401Ks, which have balances of $14K and $6K, respectively.* We have also been putting $400/week into an ING account as an "emergency" fund.* *At this point, it has grown to almost $30K, and it is probably more safety than we need, as that is ~1 year of living expenses.*

In addition to this, I learned recently that, in the 1980's, my dad (now deceased) set up a UGMA for me that currently contains $25K of a single large-cap stock.* I realize that it is stupid for me to own so much of one stock, so I would like to sell it, and take the proceeds and about $10K from the emergency fund to start a Vanguard account.* Does that sound reasonable?* If so, I have a few questions-

- Can anyone tell me the tax treatment if I sell the stock from the UGMA?* I would like to make sure that I do not do the wrong thing and incur a huge penalty.* From the records I dug up, it appears that the cost basis is about $5K.*

- Is it worth it to start a Roth, or should I stick to after-tax?* The reason I ask is that I will probably begin to hit the AGI limits in a year or two, and I don't want a lot of complexity added in order to maintain the <$10K account.*

Other than that, it's nice to finally ask a few questions and make myself known.* I probably won't post too frequently, but will definitely keep reading.*

Thanks,
chuck is offline   Reply With Quote