Join Early Retirement Today
Hi from Hiss
Old 07-20-2014, 07:05 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
Hi from Hiss

Hi everyone. I retired in May of this year at the age of 54 (a month before I turned 55). I was a Chemical Engineer for a pine chemicals company for most of my career and worked mostly in managerial positions. I have not been in a fulfilling position for many years and knew I had to get out. I have actually posted here 10+ years ago and had to look at my old posts to see when I said I would retire. I had planned for age 48 but my cowardice plus the great recession added the last 6 years.
A few months into retirement and I have no apprehensions financially. Perhaps too soon or I am too stupid. I know that many here have retired in a more secure position than I have. I have about 29 times my yearly spending in stocks (65%) and cash earning a few tenths of 1% maybe (35%). Probably too much cash but that is what I am comfortable with now.
I have a defined pension that will contribute about 35% of my today's yearly expenses but it is deferred until age 62 (non-COLA).
I believe SS will be there for me, and if it is diminished I do not see it impacting me substantially.
I have a high deductible health plan as most do here. Nothing contributed by my employer to this.
I plan to spend the first 4 months chilling in my cabin in Maine (I live in Florida). Then I hope to travel a lot. I have been into the credit card points game as well as collecting from business travel over the years and have amassed a couple million points in various loyalty programs. I hope this will support a low cost life of travel (1 or 2 international trips per year and 3 or 4 domestic) over the next 4 or 5 years.
I want to thank everyone from 10 years or so ago who educated me on this forum to know how to do this. I am confident I have made the right choice. Looking forward to our interactions.

Hiss is offline   Reply With Quote