Hi from jennyincorp - clueless & want to be more proactive

jennyincorp

Confused about dryer sheets
So I'm 28 and I pretty much think myself as clueless when it comes to investing :confused:. Maybe not as clueless as I think...but pretty close. Sure I have an MBA and majored in econ for undergrad...but I'm not too confident that really makes me any more investing savvy.

My father used to do all the managing for me...but not the case anymore. I want to be more proactive and manage my portfolio better, rather than what I do today, deposit money into the account, buy a fund/stock and then leave it. But once I start trying to figure out what type of products I should be buying in my stock and roth IRA fund...acronym's and all...I feel like I'm in a sea of things beyond my comprehension. The general rule of subtract 100 from your age, I get. Now the question is...what do you buy to get to that breakdown?

Between my roth, trading acct, bene ira, bene roth...I have about $155k
I own my current condo, bought it for $525k, lucky if I can get that amount now. Mortgage paid.
Single, planning to get married in the future. Kids in the future? Most likely. 2 max.
I currently make $90k a year + bonus if I have a good year. I don't foresee that amount increasing by much in the future. I spend about $35k a year...to high ball it.
About $50k in the 401k. I deposit 8% and company matches 10% up to 5%. I have an 80%/20% split.

I'm not sure if any of that was relevant or not....
I don't know when I want to retire. I had always assumed I would work till 65....who knows if that really is the case. I guess my question is are there any recommendations on good investment books to read or a good starting point?