Hi, I Am Already Retired!

Ashleyquilty

Confused about dryer sheets
My name is Ashley and I am a 33 year old married mother of two from North Carolina. I am actually already retired, but I feel like I really need to diversify our income stream. I was an English teacher, but after I had our two boys, I realized I didn't really like that whole working thing. Luckily I have a partner who supported me in drastically downsizing our lifestyle and investing his income into a rental real estate portfolio. I happened to buy super low-end rental properties (most were from $13k to $50k) at the best possible time (starting in low point of recession), and just recently tipped our income over the threshold where I had replaced my husband's income. We have a property manager who takes care of all the properties, so we are now both completely retired.
We own 10 properties (total portfolio value probably just shy of $1M) and have about $100k cash savings. We bring in about $6k/mo in rent and have about $4k in regular expenses (which will decrease as we pay down our 3 mortgages). The reason I am here is twofold: I want to diversify our investments and income stream more and create generational wealth for our boys. I had planned to buy another rental or two with the cash we have saved, mostly because I don't really know what else to do (I'm a bit of a one trick pony). Any advice is welcome!

You have a property manager and for that you pay ~10%? or $7200/yr? Do they find tenants and do background checks? If not you may consider doing the management yourself to increase money (and look into the tax situation since you no longer work you can define yourself as working the real estate profession and take advantage of different tax laws).