Join Early Retirement Today

Hi, I turn 55 tomorrow (21 March), and am retiring June...
Old 03-20-2012, 09:52 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hi, I turn 55 tomorrow (21 March), and am retiring June...

And am so excited! So initially, I just have a couple of questions...

1. Any advice as to how to get through these final three months at work? I'm an engineer and manager, and it is very difficult to concentrate and take my job seriously anymore. People have said this time is going to fly by, but it has been dragging. I need to get my brain back into it somehow, but I keep dreaming up plans of things to do and places to go. I've already got the rest of 2012 and much of 2013 planned. A six week road trip of western U.S. to visit family and friends, backpacking the grand canyon and canoeing the Colorado, kayaking off the California coast, and then about a three month journey to Asia. And then in 2013, remodeling and landscaping my place here in Tucson.

2. My second concern may be easier to address. About 75% of my funds are in Apple stock, and the rest I recently moved from s&p index to fixed. I know I should be more diversified, but, what can I say... It's paid off to be bullish on AAPL. So, I guess it would be prudent to sell some of that and put it into an income fund (although Apple will be paying a modest dividend starting in July). I read a thread suggesting Wellesley income fund, would there be any others that anyone could suggest looking at?

I feel lucky to have discovered this forum, thanks.

Rob

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!