Join Early Retirement Today

Hi I'm an Acupuncturist (53 yo) Should i buy a rental vacation home?
Old 07-09-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hi I'm an Acupuncturist (53 yo) Should i buy a rental vacation home?

My husband and i are currently renting and we're considering buying a beautiful vacation home....our first home! I am just beginning to earn nice $ from my profession-a career change-but feel that i will be successful. We have very little in retirement savings, about $100,000. We'd keep our apartment $1500 rent, mortgage would be about $2,000, we can afford this with about $4,000 left over for other expenses. Are we crazy to consider this?
- Good chance that we can rent the home in the summers.
- House is a good price, in an idyllic setting in new england, 4 hours from our apartment.
- Hubby has 4 day weekends and summers to work on home (tenured professor)

I am worried about the opportunity cost of the $ we'd be putting into the home. Is this a good way to prepare for retirement? We could stash away $1,500 per month or more, instead. Meeting with a financial planner next week.
daibai is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!