Join Early Retirement Today

High income ER - long-term follow-up from post 5 yrs ago
Old 04-23-2019, 09:31 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

High income ER - long-term follow-up from post 5 yrs ago

Hi all, I've benefited so much from this forum in the past, and wanted to contribute an update as I personally have enjoyed the more longitudinal stories on this site.

When I first came here, basically in crisis, in 2014, there weren't a ton of people in situations like mine, so hopefully I can help someone out. And of course, I'm still learning, so as always welcome any advice or camaraderie!

A few years have passed since my initial contemplation of ER in 2014 (see link below), but we have made some major life changes. The big ones have been: cashing out of an extreme high COL area and moving to a more moderate COL area; a little bit of budgeting; and announcing my retirement this year. I'm mid-40's and had a high profile professional services job for 18 yrs. Here's the old thread for context:

http://www.early-retirement.org/foru...-up-75023.html

Our income grew as expected and we will retire with ~$15m in liquid assets, invested 80% in 70%/30% VTI/VXUS and 20% in a hedge fund that has done well for us thru cycle for the last 15+ yrs. Own our home, and no debt. We live on about $250k (300-400 if I add in health expenses, we luxuriate more, etc), so am not concerned about whether it is sustainable. [We'd be pretty happy living in a shack by the beach, which makes me wonder why it took this look to see the light.] $500k of the liquid is going into a donor advised fund this year, to start, and we are heavy in equities so that we can donate the upside over time.

The biggest questions now are about:
(1) How to raise our kids with the right values (we are trying to be present but not too much so, and are largely hiding our wealth and teaching them to work for it). But teenagers are hard, especially if you pay attention!