High interest saving account?

Scout

Recycles dryer sheets
Hey guys,
I'm new to the game. I'm a 32 year old physician (3 years out of training with a NW of 150K. I have been aggressively paying off my high interest student loans for the past few years as well as starting my long term investments with Vanguard (most index funds). My question is in regards to an emergency fund. Currently I keep about 50K on hand, but I'm not really happy with Vanguards money market accounts for this as they are not very convenient in regards to easy access, checkwriting, ATM's, etc. I've investigated some of the high interest saving accounts online with Eloan, citibank, and a couple of others who offer up to %5.50 (of course variable), but sound very convenient as you can link these accounts with your regular checking/savings so it is easy to access if your in a pinch.
Does anyone have experience with these accounts (or atleast these types of accounts) and would you recommend them as a good place to stick your emergency fund?
Oh yeah,...I want to retire early too!
Thanks,
Scout

Welcome Scout :) I'm a fellow unseasoned citizen (29 years young) who is also on the path to FIRE.

50k sounds like a VERY safe/generous EF....roughly how many months of expenses is that? There might be a potential for you to shift some of that into more long-term (and higher yielding) investments if you have too much in your stash...

Personally, I keep a no-minimum checking account at my bank, then electronically shift any excess (over $1,000) funds into my Vanguard Tax-Free money market account. Currently, it's yielding 3.46%, and that's tax-free from Federal taxes (don't forget any state/local potential tax implications). If your highest bracket is 28%, it's equivalent to 4.81% pre-tax yield. If you're in the 33% bracket, it's 5.16%. If the 35% bracket, it's 5.32%. You can easily transfer in/out of the Vanguard account.