Join Early Retirement Today

hope i can
Old 09-29-2013, 02:31 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

hope i can

HI,

I am 61 years old now, and I want to retire or semi-retire in one year, when I can collect early SS.

I have been working in the website programming field for about 18 years, and have been at my current job a little over one year. I still like the work, but the field seems to be completely dominated by very young men. As an older female, I do not feel I belong.

I was forced to leave a previous job because the young male manager for some reason decided I didn't know anything about software. I had already been at the job for 10 years and thought I was doing ok. He started giving me very negative reviews, and I knew I would be fired if I didn't quit.

I went to another company. My manager is young, but not arrogant. The director is a middle-aged female. Everything was great for the first year.

But now I have a very young co-worker who acts like he's my boss. He knows everything, even when he doesn't. It reminds me of my previous manager and I hate it.

Well anyway, I had wanted to retire at 62 even if I liked my job. I have a lot of hobbies and interests, and friends and relatives I hardly ever get to see.

A lot of people believe Suze Orman and when I mention wanting to retire early, they give me a very skeptical look.

In another year I should have over $500,000, and would get I guess $15k a year from SS. I thought I might buy some fixed immediate annuities. If I had a base income of about $30k, then maybe I could earn about $14k by working freelance or part time.

I currently earn $75,000 a year, and my take home is about $50,000. I probably only spend about $30,000 a year.

I realize that I can't predict inflation. And I don't know if interest rates will ever go back to normal.

I live in an extremely expensive area, so if necessary I guess I could move somewhere cheaper.