Join Early Retirement Today

Houston-area Engineer, age 61, playing "OMY."
Old 05-16-2015, 10:23 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Houston-area Engineer, age 61, playing "OMY."

Greetings, new friends!

Though I'm an engineer and a numbers guy, I'm also an amateur singer in a gospel quartet. And Myers-Briggs (you remember Myers-Briggs, right?) says I'm more intuitive than sensing, and more feeling than thinking. I think those traits are unusual for engineers.

My wife retired in April of 2014 at age 59 and she is loving it. She is a brilliant technical person who burned out after getting promoted to the first level of management.

The original plan was for me to retire at about the same time. I still like my job, though, having managed to get out of management and back to being an individual contributor. So I decided to work "one more year," which would have been last month.

Around last November I began making noises about retiring. My colleagues said, "You're 60? I'd have guessed early 50s." They all like the support they get from me, and they'd like me to stay forever.

Anyway, I went on a vacation just before Thanksgiving, and I realized I couldn't imagine not getting up and going to the plant. So I decided to stay "one more year," meaning until about April 2016.

Already I'm wondering whether that's the right timing.

I'm pretty sure the finances are OK for me to go any time. I put our assets and budget (with a 15% contingency) into Fidelity's retirement planning tool, and it says there's over a 90% chance that we won't run out of money until age 114. (My wife was crushed. She said she was counting on making it to 115!)

So here are the thoughts that go through my mind.
I hate the 4:45 AM alarm clock, but,

Once I get to work, I like what I do most days, but,

I know there are other things I'd also like to do more, if I had time, but,

I get every other Friday off, plus 10 holidays and 5 weeks vacation, but,