Join Early Retirement Today

I like my job?
Old 10-06-2006, 01:02 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

I like my job?

Hello,
I was referred to this page from simpleliving.net and have really enjoyed reading posts. I am 38 DW is 36 and 2 small kids. Current NW is around $1M not including equity in our primary residence and we own a rental property. I got turned on to LBYM when I read Your Money Or Your Life but like many posters here thought the fianancial advice was ridiculous. I love the thought of FI but I'm not so sure about ER. I'm an emgency physician and honestly can't imagine not doing what i do now. I'm sure I won't feel that way in about twenty years though. I'm trying to get my wife to cut way back at work and in turn spend less money with little success. She is a physician as well and very type A workaholic whose "part time" job takes up 35-40 hrs a week.
We are both working like crazy to pay off a renovation which grew from 50k to 110k with alarming ease and took a serious bite out of our emergency fund.
My only question from veteren posters is this: My instinct is to pay off our mortgage as quickly as possible. I had a plan worked out that, with a little pain, would have paid off our 30 yr mortgage in about 16 years. My CFP thinks this is a stupid idea since it would be just one more assett a plaintiffs lawyer would go after in the event of a lawsuit. Currently we are just paying the minimum and it just doesn't feel good knowing I'll be paying it for 27 more years. Anyway, thanks for reading and I look forward to reading replies.
erdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!