Join Early Retirement Today

I turn 55 today, and FIRE on Thursday!
Old 03-20-2017, 08:01 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

I turn 55 today, and FIRE on Thursday!

Well, actually I'll semi-retire. Is FIsRE (or FISRE, FISE?) an acronym around here?

I have 33 years with Megacorp, all the same one. I was a college hire and after Friday my vacation will run until June 25; which is 33 years to the day since I joined the company. I'm an engineer and rose to a VP level, but it became clear a few years ago that I was not on track for a senior executive level. You see, I have a life outside of the company.

After June I'll remain an hourly employee of Megacorp on an on-call status. We'll see how that goes, or I might hang out a shingle and do some part-time consulting. I'm done with 60-hour weeks and 50%+ travel, but do want to stay engaged in my industry.

Financially we did well and we are not big spenders, so all of my bonuses and DW's income pretty much went into our portfolio. Investing has been a hobby of mine since 1985, so I'm self-managed. Neither DW nor I have pensions, so it is the portfolio and SS for us. We did pay off the house in January, which will help cash flow a lot.

I've been lurking on early-retirement.org for about 3 years now, just absorbing the wisdom, the ideas, the worries, and the inspiration. My other inspirations are much the same as folks here:
  • FIRECalc and now ORP,
  • Clyatt's "Work Less, Live More",
  • Zelinski's books,
  • Ferri's "AAAA" - he's working on a 3rd edition,
  • ER blogs, and
  • Original papers (e.g., Bengen, Trinity Study, etc.).

My concerns are also reflected throughout these forums, things like:
  • The transition from 60-hour work weeks to leisure - will I get bored, miss the social aspects of work, etc.
  • Portfolio performance going forward with high current valuations
  • Managing AGI and taxes

On these I"ll continue to learn from e-r.org and other sources, and am confident all will be well.

Regards,