Join Early Retirement Today

Just retired at 49.95 years old
Old 06-06-2014, 09:37 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Just retired at 49.95 years old

My goal for a long time has been to retire before I was 50. I just did it a few weeks ago and my birthday is next week. As you can probably figure out from the title, I am an engineer and a numbers geek. I calculated our finances every which way that I could think of, and we should be OK. I just could not take living life on a never stopping treadmill and decided it was time to make a change.

DW is completely on board with the decision (she even pushed me to retire sooner, but I was not comfortable with it until now.) Our kids (7 of them ages 2 to 15) already love having me home more.

I will be working 2 days a week through the end of June and then 1 day a week from home for a while as I transition out of the technical side of my job. The really stressful (management side) parts have already disappeared.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2014, 12:13 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

timmar,